This has got to be one of my most favorite installations ever. I too, loved swings as a child. We lived on a farm and we had GIANT tire swings made from tractor tires and trapezes and ropes in the barn. Thanks to the Littlest Comma and chellykins for this fun post!

,

I love swings. I had one as a child outside both our old houses. I long for the day I can have one in a home of my own. For those of you in New York, swing away indoors at this uber fun installation. You have visual artist Ann Hamilton to thank. She’s the brains behind the multimedia installation titled The Event Of A Thread. There are 42 swings hung from a high ceiling just waited to be used. (Come to think of it if they were just displayed on their own they would already be beautiful). But how amazing is it that you can actually use the swings and relive childhood memories!

I had to include this beautifully written excerpt from Ann’s site:

“I can remember the feeling of swinging—how hard we would work for those split seconds, flung at furthest extension, just before the inevitable downward and backward…

View original post 73 more words

~ by The Gallery Goddess on December 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
