Have you read: 19 Questions for Art Critic and “Work of Art” Judge Jerry Saltz (artinfo.com)?

    I had the pleasure of seeing Jerry give a rousing talk at the College of St. Rose in Albany last year.  He’s soooo much fun.  Totally wooed me into being one of his “loves.”

    His accessibility is amazing.  We’ve had communication on FaceBook, and his humanity, whimsy, and fame inspire me. Even as a lowly student, I was not too unimportant for Jerry to talk to. I’m enchanted.   I have a computer degree and reinvented myself at the age of 38 in Arts Management and he makes it seem so *possible*.

    I’ve also developed an intense affinity for Social Media and its catalyst effect on the art world, so he continues to keep my attention there, too.

From Artinfo.com:

How has your life changed since you started “Work of Art”?

    I get out of the house now at least 10 times a year (once for taping each episode) to do things that don’t have to do with writing. Lots of strangers stop me on the street and in airports to talk about art. Which is fun.

What’s your favorite place to see art?

    Authorities asked famed bank-robber Willie Sutton why he robbed banks. He said, “Because that’s where the money is.” My favorite place to see art is in art galleries and museums because that’s where much of the art is. For free.

What work(s) of art do you wish you owned?

     Off the top of my head: Grunewald’s Isenheim Altarpiece, Hiroshige’s “One Hundred Famous Views of Edo,” Courbet’s “Origin of the World,” Alice Neel’s “Joe Gould,” any Cézanne painting, any Seurat drawing.

What would you do to get it?

     Blow job or equivalent.

    Tee hee hee.  How can you not love Jerry Saltz? See these and the rest of the question and answers at ArtInfo.com.

~ by The Gallery Goddess on November 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
